Nigeria, South Africa & Uganda Win Big at the 2016 GLO -CAF Awards' [See Full List] | Listwand


Africa News, Culture And Rankings

Nigeria, South Africa & Uganda Win Big at the 2016 GLO -CAF Awards’ [See Full List]

Uganda, South africa and Nigeria won big at the just concluded 25th Edition of the Glo-CAF award held on thursday the 5th of January in Abuja, Nigeria. Uganda and South Africa both scooped two awards, while Nigeria scooped four.

The Super Falcons emerged winner in the Women’s National Team of the Year category, Asisat Oshoala’ the highest goal scorer of 2016 women Afcon was also voted as Women’s Player of the Year. Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi were also winners in their respective category.

2016 Glo-Caf award full winners list

Full list of winners

African Player of the Year

Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon… Borussia Dortmund)
 Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria… Leicester City) winner
Sadio MANE (Senegal… Liverpool)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa 

 Denis ONYANGO (Uganda… Mamelodi Sundowns) Winner
Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe… Mamelodi Sundowns)
Rainford KALABA (Zambia… TP Mazembe)

Women’s Player of the Year 

 Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria… Arsenal Ladies) Winner
Elizabeth ADDO (Ghana… Kvarnsvedensik)
Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon… Rossyanka)

Most Promising Talent 

Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo… TP Mazembe)
Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria… Manchester City) (Winner)
Naby KEITA (Guinea… RB Leipzig)

Iheanacho and iwobi
Image Source:

Youth Player of the Year 
Alex IWOBI (Nigeria… Arsenal) winner
Eric AYIAH (Ghana… Charity FC)
Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana… Supreme Ladies)

Coach of the Year

Florent IBENGE (DR Congo national team)
pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns) Winner
Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns (Winner)

TP Mazembe
Zesco United

National Team of the Year 

DR Congo
Uganda (Winner)

Women’s National Team of the Year

Nigeria (Winner)

South Africa

Referee of the Year 

Bakary Papa GASSAMA (Winner)
Ghead Zaglol GRISHA

Football Leader of the Year

Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Legend Award

Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon

AD: Get a professional website for you business, and a free business email.. Click Here

Join the conversation.. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter So you don't miss out on our posts. You can also Subscribe to receive daily updates.